top of page

New addition: iBook supplementary

Hands up who's a fan of Guitar Hero!

Well, well, well, well...excited to announce that I am thinking of writing an interactive ibook to supplement our prototype app. Now that the app is working as a prototype on PowerPoint in which the features of the app can all be displayed via opening the PowerPoint presentation on a smartphone device it has led to me thinking how this resource could be complimented.

I remember when I was kid, I didn't actually learn how to play the guitar but Guitar Hero taught me a few things and it made feel like I was totally rocking out to the coolest hits on stage. I guess you can say I'm a professional now when I know how to:

1. Hold a guitar

2. Move my fingers around the frets to get the right pitches

Now, point number 1 was pretty satisfying - being able to touch and feel an instrument is one thing, but able to hold it and put it around to be played was next level. Heard of the saying "no touch, only look"? That's probably the most disappointing thing to hear as kid but when you're given a Guitar Hero set for Christmas, that rule didn't apply. The importance of 'doing' rather than just observing serves as a great way to learn and engage in deeper levels of our cognitive thinking.

Onto point number 2, I was able to 'play a song' from Guitar Hero with the aided song tracks. Whilst these tracks adopted a karaoke-style to help the player play the correct the finger patterns on the guitar set, I thought of a similar idea to compliment our prototype/mock up app. After all, what's more exciting than having an interactive 'songbook' to supplement our resource?

The premise of what I want the iBook to feature is a selection of tunes in basic positions (first and third positions).

1. Users would be able to click on interactive buttons to see what finger patterns will be needed to play that specific tune.

2. Audio of the tune will be provided with the click of button

3. The colours of the notes would match the coloured notes on the app

Check out these rough sketches of my vision so far!


bottom of page